Wednesday, April 1, 2009

Curlin and connections honored by New York writers

Two-time Eclipse Horse of the Year Curlin and his connections have swept the top awards for 2008 given by the New York Turf Writers Association. Curlin won the Secretariat Award as New York's Horse of the Year for the second year in a row, while his owner, Jess Jackson of Stonestreet Stables, was voted the Joe Hirsch Award as the person who did most for racing and his trainer, Steve Asmussen, was honored with the C.V. Whitney Achievement Award.

Curlin, who won last year's Secretariat Award after winning the Breeders' Cup Classic and Jockey Club Gold Cup, repeated in the Gold Cup and also won the Woodward Stakes. He retired after finishing fourth in the 2008 BC Classic with a record $10.5 million in earnings.

Other winners will also be honored at the association's 86th annual awards dinner on Aug. 24 at the Saratoga National Golf Club in Saratoga Springs, N.Y. They include Alan Garcia, Fourstadave Award for achievement at Saratoga and the Eddie Arcaro Award as outstanding jockey; Commentator, Big Apple Award for New York-bred achievement; Charles Hayward and Larry Jones, co-winners of the Red Smith Good Guy Award; Kiaran McLaughlin, Woody Stephens Award as outstanding trainer; IEAH Stables, Paul Mellon Award as outstanding owner; and Adena Springs Farm, Ogden Phipps Award as outstanding breeder.

No comments:

Thoroughbred News | BloodHorse.com